For best results, click this link for accessible version

Databases A-Z

| 1 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z |
The S&P Capital IQ NetAdvantage database is a rich resource for in-depth company and industry analysis, news, and information on executives, stocks, bonds, and mutual funds. Produced by Standard and Poor's.
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
Safari Books Online is a joint venture of O'Reilly Media and The Pearson Technology Group that compiles the best technology books from the leading authors and publishers into an online database that IT, programming, and design professionals could quickly and easily search for reliable, definitive answers to mission-critical questions. Note that Safari Online is available to only 9 users at a time, so be sure to log off when you're finished!
This global collection of 1,000 proprietary and commissioned business cases from Sage is intended to elicit discussion and inspire researchers to develop their own best practices and prepare for professional success. Many of these contemporary and newsworthy cases include teaching notes and discussion questions to facilitate classroom use. Formats range from short vignettes to narrative long form. Cases were written based on field research and publicly available sources. Click here to learn more about the contributors.
The SAGE Subject Collections are discipline-specific packages of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication & Media Studies, Criminology, Education, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science & Engineering, Nursing & Public Health, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning published by SAGE and participating societies.
Sage's social science ebook platform, where you will find a range of SAGE eBook and eReference content.
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Sage State Stats features data from more than 80 different government and non-government sources and is backed by a rich collection of more than 2,000 current and historical data series on popular topics of research interest.
Provides digital access to thousands of large-scale maps of Maryland towns and cities, searchable by address and GPS coordinates. Sanborn® fire insurance maps chart the growth and development of thousands of Maryland towns and cities across a century. Because of this scope, urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, and others will find the maps a valuable tool.
The Say Brother Archive, now known as Basic Black, is a popular public affairs television program run by the WGBH public television. This program focuses on African Americans. It began in 1968 and several well-known African Americans have appeared on the program including Muhammad Ali, Maya Angelou, Nikki Giovanni, Wallace D. Muhammad, Hubie Jones, Henry Hampton, Owusu Sadaukai, Odetta Gordon, Benjamin Hooks, Sonia Sanchez, and many more.This archive provides access to programs from 1968-1982. They are searchable by subject, corporate name, program number and personal name.
Schillers Werke is the electronic edition of the Nationalausgabe of Schiller's works. The Nationalausgabe was established in 1940 as the definitive edition of his works, letters and conversations. The edition now comprises fifty-six volumes, with six more in preparation.
At the heart of Black Studies Center is Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience. This unique database examines interdisciplinary topics on the African experience throughout the Americas via in-depth essays accompanied by detailed timelines along with important research articles, images, film clips and more. The essays are contributed by leading academic experts who have surveyed and analysed the most important existing research literature in their respective fields.
Science Citation Index Expanded TM, accessed via Web of Science®, provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the bibliographic and citation information they need to find research data, analyze trends, journals and researchers, and share their findings. Overcome information overload and focus on essential data from over 6,650 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals across 150 disciplines.
ProQuest Science Database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. Whether you’re researching the effects of global warming or interested in the latest scandal surrounding genetically modified food, ProQuest Science Journals™ will guide you directly to the information you need. ProQuest Science Journals provides unmatched research support for both the applied and general sciences. Perfect for students in academic research environments, this impressive collection of scientific journals offers users a one-stop resource for their research needs.
The world's leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary.
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
SciFinder is the online version of Chemical Abstracts, covering more than 52 million compounds. SciFinder sources include journals, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, books, and more. When searching SciFinder you can include the contents of MEDLINE and OLD MEDLINE. Years covered include 1907 to the present, plus selected pre-1907 items. Search options include topic, author, CAS registry number, patent number, CAS abstract number, chemical name, chemical structure, or molecular formula. Access to SciFinder is limited to those directly associated with Johns Hopkins Institutions. Users must have current JHED credentials (Johns Hopkins Enterprise Directory) and have a Johns Hopkins issued email address. The Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory is excluded from this license and has separate site license for that location. All users must first register and create their own account, and must use a Johns Hopkins issued email address. SciFinder is accessible off-campus via EZProxy or VPN remote access.
SciVal Funding comprehensively covers grants in all disciplines from Australia, Canada, the European Commission, India, Ireland, New Zealand, Singapore, South Africa, the United Kingdom, and the United States. With more than 9,000 international sponsors, providing more than 21,000 active opportunities, there are many funding opportunities for which researchers both inside and outside of these countries are eligible. In order to get personal recommendations you’ll need to login and create a search profile. Your personal profile will be based on subject areas, keywords, or your publications.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature, indexing over 19,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus covers the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields as well as arts and humanities. Scopus includes scholarly journals, book series, conference proceedings, trade publications and Open Access journals.
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period includes 60 volumes of poetry by 47 authors. Accompanying the texts are extensive bio-critical essays, specially written for the database by leading scholars in the field, as well as selected criticism from the critical bibliography compiled by the editors.
This is the largest Chinese full text database for the study of pre-modern China. It includes more than 500 titles and 350,000,000 characters of materials pertaining to the traditional Chinese classics, especially those related to Chinese history. The database is developed by the Institute of History and Philology, Academia Sinica, Taiwan. IE recommended. Click on “ 授權使用 ” button to access the database.
Thomson Reuters’ SDC Platinum software includes two data sets: 1) Municipals and 2) Joint Ventures and Strategic Alliances. Other data sets, formerly available through SDC Platinum, are in the Thomson One database. SDC Platinum is available to current JHU affiliates from two designated computers (GPML #2 and #3) in the GIS and Data Services Center, on A-level of the Milton S. Eisenhower Library, Baltimore. Library staff will assist with the login procedure. Users are encouraged to make reservations in advance at 410-516-8360 to ensure availability of the terminal. User guides are available through the software.
The September 11 Digital Archive uses electronic media to collect, preserve, and present the history of September 11, 2001 and its aftermath. The Archive contains more than 150,000 digital items, a tally that includes more than 40,000 emails and other electronic communications, more than 40,000 first-hand stories, and more than 15,000 digital images.
Shakespeare in Performance showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.
Shen Bao (申報 ) is one of the first modern Chinese newspapers. It is the most influential and longest lasting commercial newspaper of pre-1949 China. It was established by British businessman Ernest Major in 1872. During its 78 years of existence (1872-1949), there were 256,000 issues published. As an important primary source for late imperial and modern China, Shen Bao underwent three reigns of Qing Dynasty, and witnessed many significant historical events, such as Sino-French War, Sino-Japanese War, Boxer Rebellion, two World Wars, and etc. Known for its rich news reporting, commentary and advertisement, Shen Bao played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion in the late 19th century and Republic Era.
Shock & Vibration Digest covers noise, vibration technologies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.Coverage dates back to 1969.
Short Story Index is an index to short stories written in or translated into English that have appeared in collections and selected periodicals. The periodicals are those indexed in Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature and Humanities Index.
Searchable by author, title, subject, keyword, date, literary technique and source, or combinations of terms, Short Story Index Retrospective includes bibliographic entries for more than 150,000 short stories going back to 1915, and some citations from periodicals and short story collections going back to the 1830s.
The online edition of Siku Quanshu spans five thousand years of Chinese history, geography, politics, economics, science, technology, philosophy, and close to 3,500 works with a total of more than 36,000 volumes. The compilation contains large numbers of rare books and manuscripts and is an important tool for East Asian Studies. Access to Siku Quanshu Online is restricted to Johns Hopkins University IP addresses. Because the database contains archaic Chinese characters that are not part of the Unicode standard, there is no direct URL that references the database in an internet browser. Instead, the user needs to download a special browser software from the publisher. Once the software is installed, the database can be launched from the Programs menu on the user’s computer and then accessed by clicking on 'IP Login'. Currently, the database publisher cannot provide remote access support. The user needs to be on campus to access the database, either using their own computer with installed special browser software or the CJK workstation in the AV Department on the A level of the MSE Library. For the browser software download, click the SIku Quanshu Online link or go to http://www.eastview.com/Online/SikuDownload.
Database of U.S. consumer purchasing activity down to the individual-brand level, cross-referenced with detailed data on demographic characteristics, media usage, attitudes and opinions, and location. Create user-defined cross-tabulations based on any combination of variables desired, or generate “Quick Reports” with pre-defined criteria. Available datasets are on a two-to-three-year time lag from the present. Based on the Experian Simmons quarterly National Consumer Study. Database limited to ten concurrent users - Please log out after use.
SimplyAnalytics is web-based mapping and data analysis software that changes the way people use and interact with complex data, making it easy to create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business, and marketing data. Additional components include: Dun & Bradstreet 30 Million (business listings), Simmons Data package, and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM. 5 concurrent users at a time are allowed. Please remember to logout when you are finished.
The objective of the SIRI MSDS archive is to make critical safety information as immediately and universally accessible as possible. Electronic archives provide a single source where any MSDS can be instantly located; it is essential that information from all manufacturers be accessible in a single index because it is often difficult in an emergency to identify the manufacturer.
The largest and most ambitious project of its kind, this collection is devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. An unprecedented collection developed under the guidance of a board of scholars, it offers never before available research opportunities and endless teaching possibilities.
This resource is designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period, between 1490 and 2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social-justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
A result of Gale's partnership with the Smithsonian Institution to create searchable archives of the Smithsonian's vast collections, this resource combines rare nineteenth and twentieth century archival materials on such topics as World's Fairs and trade literature and is paired with modern Smithsonian Magazine and Air & Space Magazine backfiles to present unique and comprehensive insight into history, science, nature, the arts, innovation, technology, and world culture.
This database is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
The SNL Real Estate database, from S&P Market Intelligence, offers a single source for data, news, and analytics on over 1,000 current real estate companies in 46 different countries around the world, totaling more than 100,000 properties worldwide. Users initially must create their SNL account with their JHU e-mail address, in order to access the database.
The most comprehensive archive of social memory yet created, Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online allows students, scholars, and online researchers to experience the past through thousands of private writings and personal narratives. The resource is a unique forum that brings together the voices of ordinary men and women from all walks of life with the personal accounts of well-known historical figures. In their own words, people from diverse ethnic and social groups bring vividly to life hundreds of years of history through their perspectives on life, love, faith, politics, business, and countless personal events.
An online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Create custom tables and maps from the very first Decennial Census to the latest Census, the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study. Very easy-to-use interface like the original American Fact Finder.
ProQuest Social Science Database is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. The database includes over 645 titles, with more than 400 available in full text. ProQuest Social Science Journals provides information on hundreds of topics, including: * Addiction studies * Urban studies * Family studies * International relations
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. Users are encouraged to register for a free personal account at SSRN, in order to access the selected, freely available content.
Social Sciences Citation Index®, accessed via Web of Science®, provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the bibliographic and citation information they need to find research data, analyze trends, journals and researchers, and share their findings. Overcome information overload and focus on essential data from 2,474 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines
Social Sciences Full Text provides fast access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere with full text and page images from scores of key publications, plus abstracting and indexing of hundreds of others. An in-demand resource for a wide variety of users from students to social workers, Social Sciences Full Text covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
Social Theory offers an extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization. The current release features more than 68,000 pages of content by such major theorists as Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Ulrich Beck, Howard Becker, Nancy Chodorow, Émile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Erving Goffman, Robert Merton, and Talcott Parsons.
A collection of films from the communist world that reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 100 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. These data are displayed in over 1,000 tables. The site is updated regularly as new statistics become available. The Sourcebook is supported by the U.S. Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Statistics.
Built by staff at the Columbia University Libraries, SARAI brings together numerous links to scholarly materials on South Asia that are available over the web.
The SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 200,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new technical papers are added annually.
SPIRES contains citations to particle physics literature. The SPIRES-HEP database has been run by the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center(SLAC) since the late 1960's. In 1991 it became the first web site in North America and now attracts around 50,000 searches per day. For more information about SPIRES, go to http://www.slac.stanford.edu/spires/about/.
SPORTDiscus is the most comprehensive, bibliographic database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more. SPORTDiscus is provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre.
SpringerLink is one of the world's leading interactive databases for high-quality STM journals, book series, books, reference works and the Online Archives Collection. SpringerLink is a powerful central access point for researchers and scientists.
SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases and chemical safety data.
SpringerProtocols is a subscription-based electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Compiling protocols from Humana’s successful book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals, Springer Protocols offers researchers access to nearly thirty years worth of time tested, easily reproducible, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in their lab. Written by renowned experts in the field with an emphasis on both comprehensiveness and ease of use, each protocol is organized in an easily reproducible recipe style. Helpful tricks of the trade are found in a “notes” section.
SRDS   more information
View the "My Services" list within SRDS for access to listings of national and international advertising and media sources from the Standard Rate Data Service (SRDS). Entries include facts about publications, circulation statistics and advertising rates.
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a dynamic reference work and is an open access publishing project of the Metaphysics Research Lab at the Center for the Study of Language and Information (CSLI) at Stanford University. The encyclopedia comprises scholarly entries by leading scholars in the field and is growing continually.
State Health Facts is a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and is designed to provide free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health statistics on all 50 states. Provides statistics on more than 500 health topics.
A searchable archive of 16th-18th century British State Papers Domestic, Foreign, Scotland, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council for research and teaching projects in politics, government, and social, economic, and religious history.
A Comprehensive compilation of state-level statistics, supported by official statistical documents from state governments. Each user must register before gaining access to this database.
Provides accurate and comprehensive information on the current, political, economic and social status of every country in the world. Online coverage from 1865 to present.
Statista.com integrates data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
Basic source to use for a wide variety of statistics. Contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Statistical Abstract is also a good guide to other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations. The online version is in PDF. Use the Index pages to find topics and the corresponding table numbers. Our library owns the Statistical Abstract in print from the first edition 1878-present. Image files of Historical Statistical Abstract are now also on line
A data aggregation tool that allows you to create custom tables and charts.
An index to statistical publications of the U.S. government, international organizations, state governments, and many non-governmental organizations.
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA) promotes the access and use of the nation's preeminent substance abuse and mental health research data by assuring accurate public use data files and documentation to support a better understanding of this critical area of public health.
Since 1822, this newspaper weekly has consistently provided thoughtful analysis and commentary on the week`s news and society at large.
The Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum systematically collects newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents. It presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus; it summarizes new readings, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents.
Symptom Media’s behavioral health clinical training titles are guided by the DSM, incorporating the symptoms into a concise vignette that offer visual guideposts to show you how a clinical diagnosis looks, incorporating all the symptoms into a single vignette. JHU patrons at the Homewood, JH Medical Institutions Baltimore Campus, Columbia, Montgomery County, and Washington DC campuses can access SymptomMedia.
Morgan & Claypool publishes print and electronic material for the research and development communities in science and technology. Topics covered: Life sciences, engineering and computer science.
| 1 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z |

Powered by the open source Xerxes project.