For best results, click this link for accessible version

Databases A-Z

| 1 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z |
The first issue of NACLA Newsletter, the publication that was to become NACLA Report on the Americas, was published in February 1967. The North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA), its fledgling publisher, had just come together as a coalition of “New Left” student activists. The new group, announced its organizers, would be a source of reliable information and analysis on Latin America that could be of use to activists. It would focus on systemic analyses of wealth and power in the Americas rather than on scandals or policy “mistakes.” Here is found the digital archives of NACLA's 40+ years of reports.
The NTRS is a valuable resource for students, educators, researchers, and the public for access to NASA's current and historical technical literature since it was first released in 1994. NTRS provides access to approximately 500K aerospace related citations, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos. NTRS numbers continues to grow over time as new scientific and technical information (STI) is created or funded by NASA. The type of information found in NTRS include: conference papers, images, journal articles, photos, meeting papers, movies, patents, research reports, and technical videos.
The Nation Archive Premium Edition contains indexing, abstracting, and full text for the complete archive of The Nation, beginning with its first issue in 1865 all the way to the present. The Nation is America’s oldest weekly magazine and one if its premier journals of opinion since its inception in 1865. The Nation has long been regarded as one of the country’s definitive journalistic voices of writing on politics, culture, books, and the arts, and continues to stand as the independent voice in American journalism.
NACDA acquires and preserves data relevant to gerontological research, processing as needed to promote effective research use, disseminates them to researchers, and facilitates their use. By preserving and making available the largest library of electronic data on aging in the United States, NACDA offers opportunities for secondary analysis on major issues of scientific and policy relevance.
The NACJD facilitates research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; and through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data.
NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. Here you can access full datasets either via download, request data on CD-ROM, or manipulate data online from studies such as the Common Core of Data, National Education Longitudinal Study (NELS), Education Longitudinal Study (ELS), Early Childhood Longitudinal Study (ECLS), the National Household Education Survey (NHES) and many others. See Surveys & Programs to view what projects are being undertaken, and where data may be available.
Welcome to the National Center for Health Statistics' Web site, a rich source of information about America’s health. As the Nation’s principal health statistics agency, we compile statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people. We are a unique public resource for health information–-a critical element of public health and health policy.
Established in 1972, NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
As journalism's most trusted name in exploration and discovery, National Geographic Virtual Library(NGVL) supports a range of scholarly research needs in the areas of science, history, technology, the environment, cultures, and more.
The online version for the following National Journal Group publications: National Journal, CongressDaily, The Hotline, American Health Line and Technology Daily. Also includes full searchable sources such as Bill Status Reports, polling, congressional almanac, etc.
The Sixth National Population Census of China Database (NPCC) makes available all data of population census in 2010 published by China Statistics Press, including the population data of all of China, 31provinces and centrally administered municipalities, and 2872 units at county level. The data consist of name, gender, age, nationality, permanent residence registration, education level, industry, occupation, social security, marriage, fertility, death, housing, migration and more. Full texts of the published volumes are available, and spreadsheets for numerical data can be downloaded.
The NPDB is primarily an alert or flagging system intended to facilitate a comprehensive review of health care practitioners' professional credentials. The information contained in the NPDB is intended to direct discrete inquiry into, and scrutiny of, specific areas of a practitioner's licensure, professional society memberships, medical malpractice payment history, and record of clinical privileges. The information contained in the NPDB should be considered together with other relevant data in evaluating a practitioner's credentials; it is intended to augment, not replace, traditional forms of credentials review.
Welcome to NationMaster, a massive central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Using the form above, you can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.
Natural Medicines is the most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies. Licensed for JHU, JHMI East Baltimore and Kennedy Krieger Institute only.
Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues of over 75,000 tracks, including Classical music, Historical recordings, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Whilst listening, users can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database
Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The NBER disseminates unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community. To get fulltext when off-campus, you'll need to enter your "jhu.edu" e-mail address into the box below the abstract for each paper. Three users at a time can access the NBER Working Papers.
The NCBI Structure Group maintains: MMDB, a database of macromolecular 3D structures, as well as tools for their visualization and comparative analysis. MMDB, the Molecular Modelling DataBase, contains experimentally determined biopolymer structures obtained from the Protein Data Bank (PDB); PubVast, a database of structure-structure alignments; PubChem, a database of small molecules, which provides information on their biological activities; and CDD, the Conserved Domain Database, a protein annotation resource, which consists of a collection of well-annotated multiple sequence alignment models for ancient domains and full-length proteins.
The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) is a weekly general medical journal that publishes new medical research findings, review articles, and editorial opinion on a wide variety of topics of importance to biomedical science and clinical practice. Material is published with an emphasis on internal medicine and specialty areas including allergy/immunology, cardiology, endocrinology, gastroenterology, hematology, kidney disease, oncology, pulmonary disease, rheumatology, HIV, and infectious diseases. NEJM Online contains both the current issue and an online archive that can be accessed through browsing, advanced searching, or collections by disease or topic.
Grove Music Online comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, edited by Barry Kernfeld (London, 2002). Articles that have been updated since their appearance in print are date-stamped in the upper right corner of the screen.
This new online edition of the Palgrave Dictionary of Economics retains the inspiring tradition of bringing together the world's most influential economists writing in their own voice on their areas of expertise, but in its online incarnation it has married this tradition with the benefits of a dynamic, updated resource serving the information needs of a new generation of economists.
Brill´s New Pauly is the English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. The encyclopaedic coverage and high academic standard of the work, the interdisciplinary and contemporary approach and clear and accessible presentation have made the New Pauly the unrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world.
New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics is a comprehensive reference work dealing with all aspects of poetry: history, types, movements, prosody, and critical terminology. Online version of: The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics. Edited by Alex Preminger & T.V.F. Brogan. Princeton University Press, 1993, 1434 pp.
The New Republic, founded in 1914, is America's leading journal of opinion on politics and the arts. Current and past issues of the journal are now available together in a single, stand-alone online database. The New Republic Archive presents insights from a variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, foreign policy, culture, current events, the arts, and much more. The database features award-winning writers and critics from many fields and from most political viewpoints.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Produced bi-monthly, New York Review Of Books publishes essays and reviews of books and the arts, including music, theater, dance, and film.
The New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection does not include the Sunday Magazine or the Book Review.
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.
A searchable archive of book reviews back to 1981.
Full listing of JHU subscription databases from Newsbank / Readex.
NewsVault delivers the definitive cross-searching experience for exploring the JHU Libraries' collection of Gale historical newspapers. Subscribed access includes the historical archives of The Economist, Financial Times, Illustrated London, Picture Post, The Times of London, Sunday Times, Times Literary Supplement, and many newspapers published since the 17th century.
A ground-breaking resource for 19th century studies, NCCO is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the “long” nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
A collection of 250 British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903, stretching from the golden age of Gothic fiction to the Decadent and New Woman novels of the 1890s. Major novelists of the period such as Austen, Scott, Mary Shelley, Dickens, Eliot, Hardy and the Brontës feature alongside popular romances, sensation fiction, colonial adventure novels and children's literature.
The Nineteenth Century is a thirty-year publishing programme based at the British Library which reproduces on microfiche a significant proportion of English-language works first published between 1801 and 1900. C19: The Nineteenth Century Index makes the growing collection of catalogue records produced as part of this project cross-searchable with other key bibliographic resources for nineteenth-century studies.
The Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC) defines the printed record of the English-speaking world from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the end of the First World War. The project aims to index all printed works published in Britain, its colonies and the United States of America, all printed works in English wherever published, and all translations from English. In addition to providing an exhaustive survey of the complete spectrum of monograph publications in the period, the catalogue indexes thousands of periodicals, directories and other ephemeral publications.
Neural Information Processing Systems (NIPS) is a machine learning and computational neuroscience conference held every December in Vancouver, Canada. The proceedings, from 1987, can be searched at http://www.nips.cc/WorkshopSeries/.
Property Data Summaries are topical collections of property values derived from surveys of published data. Thermal, mechanical, structural, and chemical properties are included in the collections. Fracture Toughness provide fracture toughness data on numerous materials. Also includes property data on borate base glasses, germanate base glasses, phosphate base glasses and silicate base glasses.
This collection provides complete FCO 7 and FCO 82 files for the entire period of Richard Nixon’s presidency. Top-level Anglo-American discussions and briefing papers dominate these papers. There is also a wealth of material on social conditions, domestic reforms, trade, culture and the environment. In addition, there is strong coverage of US policy decisions by the FCO and the British embassy in Washington; White House staff appointments and UN discussions; views on Europe; the deployment of F-111 aircraft on US airbases in the UK and Nixon’s battles over funding from Congress; visits to the US by Harold Wilson and Edward Heath; and the internal situation in the US and domestic reform. There are also detailed assessments of all the changes brought about by the presidential election of 1972, in which Nixon beat George McGovern by a record-breaking margin and in every state but one, only to resign two years later in the face of almost certain impeachment.
NK NewsPro is a suite of research resources and tools designed for professionals working on the subject of North Korea. It includes latest news on and from North Korea, specialist analysis and reports as well as proprietary research tools and databases.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950.
North American Women's Drama brings together more than 1,500 plays by more than 300 playwrights, along with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The collection begins with the works of Mercy Otis Warren and Susanna Haswell Rowson in colonial times and spans the 19th and 20th centuries to the present. It includes playwrights such as Marsha Norman, Beth Henley, Susan Glaspell, Sophie Treadwell, Gertrude Stein, Maria Irene Fornes, Emily Mann, Zora Neale Hurston, Jane Martin, Lynn Nottage, Theresa Rebeck, Nora Ephron, Susan Sontag, Edna Ferber, Alice Childress, Rachel Crothers, Megan Terry, and many more.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.
The premier source for accessing unclassified reports from influential U.S. and international government agencies.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health SourceTM provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This versatile database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 1,015 titles, with over 860 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,300 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.
Nursing Reference Center Plus is committed to educating nurses about evidence-based medicine and nursing best practices.
The Wharton Research Data Service is a tool that makes selected JHU dataset subscriptions web-based. The following business and economics resources are available through WRDS: Compustat, GTA-CSMAR, Eventus, NYSE Trade and Quote, Global Insight, and CRSP. Additional, complimentary data from WRDS are also available. WRDS is only available to JHU faculty and graduate students who have approved WRDS accounts for their academic research.
| 1 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z |

Powered by the open source Xerxes project.