For best results, click this link for accessible version

Databases A-Z

| 1 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z |
H-Net is an excellent resource for scholarly reviews both in the Humanities and Social Sciences.The reviews can be browsed by year, date, format type, and list. Moreover, it provides access to numerous discussion networks, a job guide, and academic announcements about workshops, conferences, calls for papers and publications, funding, etc.
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources. The HLAS Web interface searches vols. from 47 (1985)-present. For search access to all vols. since 1936, use HLAS Online.
The Handbooks in Economics series is a reference source that covers various branches of the discipline. Each individual handbook covers material from current journal articles and recent research developments. Topics include international economics, labor economics, monetary economics, public economics, health economics and more.
HAPI is your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. HAPI Online combines current information about Latin America with in-depth coverage spanning more than thirty years.
HarpWeek enables you to directly experience the richness and historical significance of Harper’s Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper.
The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations. Johns Hopkins University is a HathiTrust member, so we have access to the entire collection. You must login with your JHED login and password to have access to the entire site.
HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank)provides the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals. It includes information on human health effects, industrial hygiene, emergency handling procedures, environmental fate, regulatory requirements, emergency medical treatment, animal toxicity studies, metabolism/pharmacokinetics, pharmacology, chemical/physical properties, safety and handling, occupational exposure standards, manufacturing information, and related areas. HSDB is peer-reviewed, and organized into individual chemical records. HSDB is produced by the National Library of Medicine and accessed through TOXNET.
ProQuest Health and Medical Collection™ combines the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library™ with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. ProQuest Health and Medical Complete provides in-depth coverage from over 1,780 publications with over 1,550 available in full text and of these, over 910 include MEDLINE® indexing.
Comprehensive bibliographic coverage of a wide variety of evaluation and measurement tools for health and psychosocial studies, for practitioners, educators, researchers, and students.
HMCA is sponsored by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the largest health care philanthropy organization in the United States. HMCA is the official data archive of the Foundation, and is devoted to preserving and making available research data that have significant secondary-analytic value for expanding knowledge on, and ultimately contributing to, improvement of the health of people in the United States.
This database has the full text of about 80 consumer health magazines, such as American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, Men's Health, Prevention, and Vegetarian Times. You can also search the full text of about 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books.
This resource provides more than 580 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Clinical Nursing Research, Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child + Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Family Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Journal of the Society of Pediatric Nurses, Nurse Practitioner, Nursing, Nursing Diagnosis, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, Nursing Management, Patient Care for the Nurse Practitioner, Western Journal of Nursing Research, and many more.
Health, United States annual report on the health status of the Nation prepared by the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services for the President and Congress.
The Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP, pronounced "H-Cup") is a family of health care databases and related software tools and products developed through a Federal-State-Industry partnership and sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). HCUP databases bring together the data collection efforts of State data organizations, hospital associations, private data organizations, and the Federal government to create a national information resource of patient-level health care data (HCUP Partners). HCUP includes the largest collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States, with all-payer, encounter-level information beginning in 1988. These databases enable research on a broad range of health policy issues, including cost and quality of health services, medical practice patterns, access to health care programs, and outcomes of treatments at the national, State, and local market levels.
Digitized collection of a private library (about 10,000 volumes) owned by the Rostock University. Includes nearly 400 titles of Oldyiddish literature, books on Yiddish philology, missionary writings, pocket diaries, and broadsides.
The Hebrew and Judeo-Arabic books from Baghdad comprise an unparalleled resource for the study of oriental printing, Hebrew liturgical history, Judeo-Arabic literature, and the history and culture of the most ancient Jewish diaspora community.
Our subscription to HeinOnline includes access to the Federal Register Library, Code of Federal Regulations, Foreign and International Law Resources Database, Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS), Legal Classics, Treaties and Agreements Library and the U.S. Presidential Library.
This collection of audiovisual presentations with synchronized narration by faculty and scientists is organized into categories, series, and therapeutic areas.
This regularly updated collection of audiovisual presentations by recognized experts includes over 900 talks. The talks are organized into categories and series, including Economics; Finance & Accounting; Global Business Management; Management, Leadership & Organization; Marketing & Sales; Strategy; and Technology & Operations. Videos can be freely viewed by all JHU affiliates and embedded into course management software platforms such as Blackboard.
The HPB Database (previously called the Hand Press Book Database) is a collection of bibliographic records from major European and North American research libraries covering materials printed in Europe during the hand-press period, c. 1455-c. 1830. It currently contains just under 3 million records; new records are added each year.
HighWire's approach to online publishing of scholarly journals is not simply to mount electronic images of printed pages; rather, by adding links among authors, articles and citations, advanced searching capabilities, high-resolution images and multimedia, and interactivity, the electronic versions provide added dimensions to the information provided in the printed journals.
Published annually since 1972, the Historic Documents Series now contains 32 volumes of primary sources. Each volume includes approximately 100 documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
Historical Newspapers is a website for historians that provides valuable reference material for students of nineteenth- and twentieth-century history. Using newspaper coverage and indexes to some of the best news coverage across two continents and two centuries, Historical Newspapers creates a fascinating window on the past. You can find the full text of articles illustrating British attitudes towards the United States in the early 1800's and then find references to articles dealing with American reactions to British events in the early twentieth century.
This thoroughly revised five-volume reference work, available both in print and electronic editions, reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.
Highly regarded gateway to web resources as well as a repository of unique teaching materials, first-person primary documents, and guides to analyzing historical evidence for high school and college students and teachers of American history. Includes lesson plans and syllabi.
A highly diverse collection taking the reader on a sumptuous tour of well-known, little-known and far-flung destinations unlocked for the average traveller between 1850 and the 1980s.
The NLM historical collections include books printed before 1914, pre-1871 journals, historical pamphlets, dissertations, and government reports, early medical manuscripts dating from the 11th century, modern manuscripts (1601-present), historical videos and films, and historical prints and photographs. Most of the collection is not online, but look at the site to find out about what is. Everyone is welcome, but you must get a library card (on site). Please call for more information before visiting. 301-402-8878
The History of Science, Technology, and Medicine database is the definitive international bibliography for the these fields. It reflects their influence on society and culture from prehistory to the present. The database includes journal articles (nearly 9,500 journals), conference proceedings, books, book reviews and dissertations in all scientific disciplines and related fields.
A collection of online encyclopedias from ABC-Clio.
ProQuest History Vault unlocks the wealth of archival materials from its University Publications of America (UPA) Collection with a single search. Researchers can access letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and much more from a single interface. Subscribed collections include: Slavery and the Law; Papers of the NAACP, 1913-1965; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century.
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier research collection of open-source resources related to homeland security policy, strategy and organizational management.
Delivers comprehensive insight and analysis about the companies, industries and people that drive the economy.
Human Resources Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to human resources, including human resource management, employee assistance, organizational behavior, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains records carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Journal of Human Resources, Personnel Psychology, and Work & Occupations.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. Content from H.W. Wilson’s International Index is also included. Dates covered: 1907-1984.
Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more.
Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Formerly the American Humanities Index, this database contains bibliographic records from a multitude of U.S. and international journals, books and reference works. Humanities International Index provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
| 1 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z |

Powered by the open source Xerxes project.