For best results, click this link for accessible version

Databases A-Z

| 1 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z |
Early American Fiction 1789–1875 offers the full text of more than 700 first editions of American novels and short stories by such authors as Louisa May Alcott, Herman Melville, Harriet Beecher Stowe and Mark Twain, as well as a host of minor writers of the period.
This release of Early Encounters in North America contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters. Particular care has been taken to index the material so that it can be used in new ways. For example, you can identify all encounters between the French and the Huron between 1650 and 1700.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
A collection of more than 200 works from the period 1500–1700, exploring the rich diversity of prose fiction in English in the period preceding the emergence of the realist novel as its dominant form. Early English Prose Fiction offers the full text of works by key writers such as John Bunyan, Sir Philip Sidney, Thomas Nashe and Aphra Behn, and has been produced in association with the Salzburg Centre for Research on the Early English Novel (SCREEN).
Since 1972, 20 volumes of primary material documenting the actions, debates, and thoughts of the First Federal Congress and its members have been collected by the First Federal Congress Project (FFCP) and published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. These volumes of the Documentary History of the First Federal Congress are used by Congress, historians, political scientists, and jurists to understand the most important and productive Congress in United States history.
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many East Asian and South Asian countries.
This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in East European and Central European countries.
East View offers subscription databases comprised of published content from Russia and former Soviet states, China and East Asia. This links you to all the publications and databases to which JHU subscribes.
Formerly called NetLibrary, eBooks & Audiobooks on EBSCOhost is an eContent service that supports content from leading publishers, many types of media — including eBooks and eAudiobooks — and many types of libraries.
EBSCO's A-to-Z service gives library patrons one comprehensive online list of databases they can access and search individually or all at once.
EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature. The database contains more than 1.1 million records from 1886-present. EconLit covers virtually every area related to economics.
Good public policy depends on accurate information. The Economic Census provides official measures of output for industries and geographic areas, and serves as the cornerstone of the nation’s economic statistics, providing key source data for the Gross Domestic Product (GDP) and other indicators of economic performance.
The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2012. With objective authority, clarity and wit, The Economist presents the world's political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments and the connections between them.
Full package includes: World Investment Service; Viewswire; Industry Briefing; Country Commerce; Economist.com; Risk Briefing; Country Reports; CountryData; Market Indicators and Forecasts; CityData
The Economist is a weekly publication which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide.
This online version of the print resource is continually updated and provides comprehensive information about E. coli and Salmonella.
Écrits sur l'art de Diderot à Proust brings together a wide range of writings on art: aesthetics, philosophy, art history, and texts by painters and writers. This diversity of writings allows the user to investigate the links between painting and writing from different points of view. The texts here also span a period of nearly two centuries, beginning with Père André’s L’Essai sur le beau from 1741, six years before the first salon, and ending with the last volume of Proust’s À la recherche du temps perdu from 1927. Made available by the ARTFL Project.
Censimento nazionale delle edizioni italiane del XVI secolo. A database of books printed in Italy, and in the Italian language outside of Italy, between 1501 and 1600. Also includes information on 25,000 authors, 5500 printers and booksellers, 2200 printers’ devices, 1400 dedications, and 2300 records of bibliographic sources and references. For more than 1000 titles, there are links to digital versions.
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare contains eleven major editions from the First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 1863–66, twenty-eight separate contemporary printings of individual plays and poems, selected apocrypha and related works. In addition it contains more than one hundred adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, including the whole of Bell's Acting Edition of Shakespeare's Plays (1774).
ProQuest® Education Database gives users access to over 830 top educational publications, including more than 660 of the titles in full text. Offering complete information on hundreds of educational topics, this database offers complete text and images from journals such as: *Childhood Education *College Teaching *Harvard Educational Review *Journal of Athletic Training *Educational Theory
This full-text source of education scholarship provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, teaching methods and much more.
Education in Video is the first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers.
This full-text source of education scholarship provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, teaching methods and much more.
Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The extensive collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
The new EdStats Country Profiles bring together all of the data and research resources on the EdStats website into a thorough and up-to-date profile of the education sector in a selected country. The Profiles include basic education indicators, learning outcome data, educational attainment data, and educational equity data as well as information on country research resources, World Bank education project activities, and country context.
This datatbase includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 60,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life from all parts of the world. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups with corresponding full-text documents that are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. Use it to find information on a particular culture or cultural trait or for making cross-cultural comparisons. The database includes thousands of pages of text from books, articles, and unpublished manuscripts as well as English translations of foreign texts available exclusively in HRAF, and can be useful for many disciplines in social sciences, humanities, medicine, or any area of study with an interest in world cultures.
A collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles. Key figures covered include Daniel Defoe, Henry Fielding, Eliza Haywood, Samuel Richardson, Tobias Smollett, Laurence Sterne and Jonathan Swift. In addition to a scanned version of Sterne's Tristram Shandy, the collection also contains two different editions of Richardson's Clarissa and Pamela, and of Swift's Gulliver's Travels.
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the world’s largest library of the printed book on microfilm.
Features the John Larpent Collection from the Huntington Library and also features correspondence between key theatrical figures, biographical information, portraits, advertisement, historical information and the companion texts. Most of the documents included in the collection are from 1737-1824.
This portal brings together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: colonial life; provincial and rural affairs; the French and American revolutions; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and London coffee house gossip and discussion.
Database of global pricing information. Covers cost-of-living prices of products and services in cities worldwide. Performs data analysis and converts currency.
Country Commerce is a practical reference guide to the specific operating conditions, commercial laws and business regulations in 55 countries.
Database of annual, quarterly and monthly economic indicators and forecasts, covering more than 320 economic series for 150 countries, as well as 45 regional aggregates, running from 1980 and forecasting out five years.
Country Reports cover nearly 200 countries and monitors how national, regional and global events will affect business in the short-to medium term. Each report examines and explains in depth the issues shaping the countries: the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and foreign trade and payments. Detailed two-year forecasts complement the analysis and pinpoint political and economic developments and trends.
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Industry Anaylsis covers 6 key industries and 60 major countries, providing forecasting, analysis, data, and risk.
Database of economic, demographic, consumption and industry data on 60 major countries, stretching back to 1990 and forward five years.
Combines political, economic, and financial risk assessment for over 60 key markets. Evaluates and ranks countries according to level of risk based on the following ten risk issues: security, political stability, government effectiveness, economic conditions, infrastructure, financial risk, legal & regulatory environment, foreign trade and payments environment, tax policy, and labor markets. Updated daily. For additional information, visit the EIU RiskWire Web site at http://riskwire.eiu.com/site_info.asp?info_name=riskwire.
The Economist Intelligence Unit’s ViewsWire service provides daily updates on over 250 important economic, political and market developments around the world, as well as concise analytical briefings on their implications for business. One can search by country or region, and then topic, for easier tracking of new information.
World Investment Service features a detailed database containing flows of investment by country and industry, overseas mergers and acquisitions and business costs. The service covers the world's 60 largest economies and provides detailed analysis on political and economic background, business environment, foreign investment regulations and trends in foreign investment.
With 59,489 letters and documents and 7,230 correspondents, EE is the most wide-ranging online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century.
Covers international biomedical literature, including journals and many conferences, from 1947+. EMBASE includes all items covered by MEDLINE and more than 5 million not covered by MEDLINE or PubMed. (Its ENTRÉE thesaurus includes all MeSH terms and is updated 3x/year.) Its detailed drug coverage includes all drug synonyms, and lets you search by “routes of drug administration” and diseases that are “drug-resistant.”
An extensive collection of academic-style emerging market case studies covering management disciplines such as: accounting and finance, entrepreneurship, environmental management, international business, human resource management, marketing, operations and logistics, and strategy. Case studies typically include extensive discussion of each situation, footnotes and references, charts and graphs, and summaries of key issues.
Provides access to Emerald’s extensive output of journals, books, case studies, and bibliographic databases on a wide range of management disciplines including: strategy, leadership, library and information management, marketing and human resource management--plus a substantial number of engineering, applied science and technology titles.
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries.
Since the Encyclopædia Britannica's founding in 1768, Britannica editors have gathered and organized information on thousands of topics for easy retrieval.
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.
An authoritative, comprehensive, and systematic presentation of the current state of scholarship on fundamental issues of Judaism, both past and present. While heavy emphasis is placed on the classical literature of Judaism and its history, it also includes acutely contemporary issues.
CQ Encyclopedia of American Government (EAG) provides answers to the full range of questions that students, government professionals, interested citizens, and other researchers have about the institutions of U.S. government.
A digital version of Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Nineteenth Century (Chicago; London: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1998). Provides an alphabetical list of articles on 19th century American poets, giving a brief overview of each.
Encyclopedia of Earth is a free online scholarly encyclopedia about the Earth. Geology, geography, environmental science, and other disciplines as they affect the Earth are covered in this continuously-updated encyclopedia.
The Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS) features over 4,600 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles spanning the entire spectrum of the life sciences. It is an essential read for life scientists and a valued resource for undergraduates, graduate students and researchers. ELS articles are written by leaders in the field to provide comprehensive and authoritative coverage of each subject area. ELS is updated by approximately 400 articles per year, with new articles publishing on a monthly basis.
This online encyclopedia profiles 474 marketing campaigns of special note, by virtue of their size, the importance of the company involved, their success, and/or their use of innovative techniques. Each entry includes an overview, historical context, target market(s), major brand competitors, and outcome. The 2007 edition covers the period from the late 1990s through 2005.
The Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception (EBR) pursues the twofold task of 1) comprehensively recording – and, indeed, advancing – the current knowledge of the origins and development of the Bible in its Jewish and Christian canonical forms and 2) documenting the history of the Bible’s reception in Judaism and Christianity as evident in exegetical literature, theological and philosophical writings of various genres, literature, liturgy, music, the visual arts, dance, and film, as well as in Islam and other religious traditions and contemporary movements.
Encyclopedia of the Novel includes hundred’s of articles on individual novelists and novels, national literatures, genres, literary movements (Naturalism, Postmodernism, etc.), critical topics (Character, Description, Framing, etc), and critical methods applicable to fiction (Marxism, Formalism, Narratology, etc.). Online version of: Encyclopedia of the Novel. 2 vols. Chicago and London: Fitzroy Dearborn, December 1998.
The Energy Citations Database (ECD) contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related STI from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). The Database provides access to DOE publicly available citations from 1948 through the present, with continued growth through regular updates.
A unique collection of more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.
The original ground-breaking Chadwyck-Healey collection, English Poetry contains essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th. Over 160,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets are drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources.
English Poetry, Second Edition redefines the English poetic canon for the 21st century, building on the achievement of the original English Poetry collection with enhanced functionality and the addition of more than 20,000 poems. The most comprehensive archive of English verse available now offers incomparable representation both of the literary heritages of former colonial countries and of the poetic legacies of English writers who have only been brought back to scholarly attention during the last thirty years.
ESTC is a bibliographic database containing records for items printed in England or in any of England's dependencies, 1473-1800. Currently, it contains about 413,000 items. When complete, it will contain virtually all English items printed between 1473 and 1800. Appended to each record is a list of libraries which have reported holding a copy of the item described. Updated daily. Coverage from the earliest Caxton incunabulum (1473) through the last item printed in 1800.
Environment & Energy Publishing (E&E) is the leading source for comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy policy and markets. E&E's four daily online publications are considered "must-reads" by people who track and influence energy, environmental and climate policy. Subscription includes: Environment & Energy Daily, EnergyWire, Greenwire, E&E News PM, Climate Wire, Land Letter, and E&E TV.
ERIC   more information
Gain immediate access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index with ERIC.
Essay and General Literature Index, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, is a unique reference database that cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. More than 320 single and multi-authored volumes are indexed annually with more than 20 selected annuals and serial publications. Essay and General Literature Index provides access to nearly 65,000 essays found in over 5,300 printed anthologies and collections, with coverage dating as far back as 1985. Subjects covered in the database include archaeology, architecture, art, children's literature, classical studies, drama, economics, fiction, film, folklore, history, linguistics, music, poetry, political science, psychology, religion, women's studies and more, covering the entire range of the humanities and social sciences.
Essay & General Literature Retrospective offers access to tens of thousands of essays that are otherwise all but inaccessible. The database unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields. It also offers access to tens of thousands of essays, and unlocks a wealth of information in thousands of collections and anthologies, making your library more valuable to researchers in a wide array of fields.
InCites Essential Science Indicators provides access to a unique and comprehensive compilation of essential science performance statistics and science trend data. The chief indicators of output, or productivity, are journal article publication counts. Data in Essential Science Indicators are limited to Thomson Scientific-indexed journal articles only.
Ethnic NewsWatch™ features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1959, ENW presents a comprehensive, full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from more than 340 publications offering both national and regional coverage. While the content may mirror mainstream media coverage, the viewpoints are decidedly unique.
Ethnographic Video Online provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior – more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
These links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history.
digitizes Eubel's Hierarchia medievalia & Gams' Series episcoporuum. Allows searches by bishop or diocese.
Covers over 250 countries. Includes basic information about the constitution, government, legislature, political organizations, diplomatic representation, religion, the media, finance, trade, industry, transport and tourism for each country. Provides economic and demographic statistics and surveys of recent history that are particularly useful. Also profiles over 1,650 international organizations providing full communication details, activities, statistics, principal officials and publications.
Indexes books, articles and dissertations covering materials dealing with Eastern European countries, including countries of the former Soviet Union, published in Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom. This database contains the data of two former EBSEES databases, one for 1991-2000, the other for 2001-2006.
ProQuest European Business provides in-depth coverage of one of the world's most important areas of economic activity. Full-text, fully searchable articles are available from more than 110 leading titles, including The Economist, Fortune, and European Business Journal. Students and faculty at leading business schools throughout the world turn to ProQuest European Business for in-depth profiles of the continent's companies, business leaders, and products. The database also is an excellent source of information on specific economic and market conditions in countries and regions throughout Europe.
esp@cenet contains all the patent documentation available to EPO examiners and the latest patent applications from all the EPO member states.
This new bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
This digital collection is an unparalleled resource for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history, providing immediate access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering vivid insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasizing contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.
Exam Master’s online board review for the NCLEX-RN nursing examination prepares you for the actual NCLEX-RN test.
Journal package from the Royal Society of Medicine Press and Society for Experimental Biology and Medicine.
| 1 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z |

Powered by the open source Xerxes project.